Non-Sport Update's Card Talk
Xena

This topic can be found at:
https://nonsportupdate.infopop.cc/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/954605353/m/9997098276

September 30, 2014, 05:34 PM
Tommy C
Xena
I have all of the Rittenhouse Xena sets, except for the last 1 or 2, with complete chase runs, aside from any autos they may have done

This may sound like a silly question, but are these Xena sets still popular ? Is there any demand for them anymore, or have the cards cooled off like other 1990s sci-fi shows ?
September 30, 2014, 08:44 PM
Raven
I'm no expert on Xena cards. I have my fair share of autographed cards from the sets, but was not a big follower of the series, so I don't have hard facts, just a general impression based on what usually happens with older TV show sets.

The cards came out between 1998 and 2006. The complete sets are pretty cheap now. The demand has cooled off because those collectors who wanted them already have them, while newer collectors don't seem to be discovering the cards or the show. I have not seen any Xena or Hercules reruns in quite sometime. They may still be running on cable somewhere, but they are now off the local channels in my area.

The autograph prices have leveled off or dropped, it depends on the set. Lucy Lawless is still in demand, just not as high. She held up better than Kevin Sorbo for value, but that's because she went on to do other roles. The other stars really didn't do that much after Xena, so it's not like people are looking for autographs because of other work.

I think Xena cards have all peaked in terms of value and any missing holes can probably be easily filled, but it doesn't put them in the same catagory as old sci-fi shows because the cards were better than that to begin with.
September 30, 2014, 09:24 PM
chesspieceface