Non-Sport Update's Card Talk NSU Home | NSU Store | In The Current Issue... | Contact Us |
Non-Sport Update    Non-Sport Update's Card Talk  Hop To Forum Categories  General Card Discussion    How much is too much for buying cards
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

How much is too much for buying cards
 Login/Join

Picture of WoofyTrades
posted
I'm kinda new to card collecting and was wondering how much money is fair in card pricing.

Most of the time I go by how I feel about the card. If I really like the card obviously I'll pay a little more but this method is really subjective to what the seller thinks is fair and the maximum amount I'm willing to spend.

I guess my question is how does everyone else buy their cards.

Posts: 22 | Location: Non-Sport Forum | Registered: November 10, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Now thats the million dollar question.to me i pay whats fair and what i can afford at the time.dont forget the old saying 'its only worth what someone is prepared to pay'

having said that i have paid and traded alot for some cards that i wanted and i consider 'really rare'high end Star trek are my greatest failing Big Grin

Posts: 182 | Location: runcorn | Registered: January 23, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Diamond Card Talk Member
Picture of Raven
posted Hide Post
There is no answer to that question. It all depends on a buyer's cash flow and how badly he/she wants the cards. We all have an inner voice that tells us when we are being stupid, sometimes we don't listen to it, but that can happen when we are doing more than just collecting cards. Wink

For me, I have a loose rule of thumb.

Assuming that I have, as they say disposable income at the time, I really don't sweat anything under $50 as long as the price is in line with others I've seen. If its box buying I expect tp pay $65 - $70. If its an individual card over $50 it must be a decent deal, either because of the price or the limited availability of the card.