Non-Sport Update's Card Talk NSU Home | NSU Store | In The Current Issue... | Contact Us |
Non-Sport Update    Non-Sport Update's Card Talk  Hop To Forum Categories  General Card Discussion    Promo Cards - Why do you collect them?
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Promo Cards - Why do you collect them?
 Login/Join

Picture of fuchaldream
posted
Hi! I have been collecting cards in some form for about 30 years. I have collected some promo cards here and there, mostly when it is was not terribly inconvenient; but I have never really gotten too excited about them.

It seems like some people on this forum quite enjoy collecting them, and it made me curious. What is the draw to collect them?

There is no judgment here. Just sincere curiosity.

Thanks to anyone who responds.

Posts: 275 | Location: Indiana | Registered: January 26, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of Obi Wan Chrisobi
posted Hide Post
I don't go out of my way to collect them myself, but I imagine it's just a case of wanting them to complete a set for most folks.

Posts: 425 | Location: Canada | Registered: August 07, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Titanium Card Talk Member
Picture of wolfie
posted Hide Post
well if you are collecting a set then you need the promos to complete the set.

Allthough I like certain sets and collect all the things for those I decided early on that if I collected promos and sell sheets ( remember those ) I could have something from every set without it costing me a fortune. When I look through my promo binders and my binders full of sell sheets it reminds me of all the sets that have come out over the years.

It is nice to have a few promo cards from X set even though I have not got anything else from that set.

This little quaint part of the hobby took a nosedive when people suddenly decided that there was money to be made from promo cards and it has not been the same since.