Non-Sport Update's Card Talk NSU Home | NSU Store | In The Current Issue... | Contact Us |
Non-Sport Update    Non-Sport Update's Card Talk  Hop To Forum Categories  General Card Discussion    Retail packs / Hobby boxes
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Retail packs / Hobby boxes
 Login/Join

New Card Talk Member
posted
Hi!

I'm fairly new to collecting cards - a long time ago I would by individual piecework Buffy cards and so on but recently have been getting into the boxes (for Upper Deck MCU cards and Arrow). My biggest problem is that they can be quite expensive to get in the uk so do have to limit myself!
I've just come across the Marvel Upper Deck retail packs and have been trying to find the difference between retails packs and the boxes? Any help will be much appreciated!
Thanks!

Posts: 7 | Location: Uk | Registered: July 17, 2017Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Bronze Card Talk Member
Picture of Kryten67
posted Hide Post
Retail Pack have less
Premium Hits.... Autograph Cards or Sketches . Hobby Boxes usually have at least 1 Hit per box.... Retail is more like 1 Hit per 5,000 packs...

Posts: 692 | Location: Columbus, OH | Registered: April 14, 2015Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Diamond Card Talk Member
Picture of Raven
posted Hide Post
If you want to be cost effective, it is much cheaper to buy the individual cards you want or to buy combined lots of cards.

Box buying is when you want a complete set of something and you feel lucky about getting a good hit. More often than not, the price you pay will be more than the sum of its parts, but every so often you may pull a big card.

There is also such a thing as a premium pack or premium box. They can cost less than a hobby box for some titles and more for others. The premium pack usually has more hits guaranteed and the premium box will have a full set and a certain number of hits without the foil packs. Some products are only made in that format.