Non-Sport Update's Card Talk NSU Home | NSU Store | In The Current Issue... | Contact Us |
Non-Sport Update    Non-Sport Update's Card Talk  Hop To Forum Categories  General Card Discussion    HP Herminone fake/autopen on ebay?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

HP Herminone fake/autopen on ebay?
 Login/Join

New Card Talk Member
posted
Hello!

I'm fairly new to autograph card collecting, though quite an old magic tg collector.

The fact is that I spotted this Emma Watson auto from a seller I've recenly purchased a few cards from:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/181703101638

To me the signature seems so obviously fake. But makes me wonder now if these cards i've purchased from this seller are fakes as well.

I've been comparing, side to side, suspicious cards with legit autos from the same card set. I Checked the card print, the color tones, the cut length of the cards and offset. The question is: How accourate are counterfeiters when it comes to reach the same print color tones, paper thickness and so on? Is a proper side to side comparison enough or do you have better methods?

Thank you in advance!

Posts: 3 | Location: Spain | Registered: April 05, 2015Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Diamond Card Talk Member
Picture of Raven
posted Hide Post
Welcome to Card Talk DreamCrawler.

You have started off with one of the most tricky topics, counterfeits of certified autograph cards. It makes a lot of people very paranoid very fast.

Can it happen? Yes.

Does it happen a lot? No. Generally speaking it is confined to higher priced cards rather than commons.

Can the certified card be authentic and the signature still be bad? Yes, if the signer used an autopen or a ghost, or if blanks of a genuine card got out.

Is it hard to counterfeit a certified autograph card and forge a decent looking signature? It sure is, and that is why a certified card is still your best protection from a fake signature.